EmailDiscussions.com  

Go Back   EmailDiscussions.com > Email Service Provider-specific Forums > Runbox Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Stay in touch wirelessly

Runbox Forum Everything related to Runbox should go here: suggestions, comments, complaints, questions, technical issues, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 Mar 2018, 04:40 AM   #1
Jacinto
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 364
Is there a quick way to check mail quota other than with web mail?

Hello.

Thunderbird can be used to check mail quota use for most E-Mail hosting companies by right clicking a mail directory, selecting "Properties" then "Quota."

This works with Fastmail, GMail and most Linux/Unix mail providers, but not with Runbox.

When tried with Runbox, a nonsensical error message appears as follows: "Quota information is not available because the folder is not open." The folder is, in fact, open.

Since Thunderbird doesn't work with RB for checking quotas, I would like to be able to check my RB mail quota other than by logging-in to RB web mail.

Is there a simple way to accomplish it, perhaps using curl or a similar binary?

Thank you.

--
Jacinto

Last edited by Jacinto : 26 Mar 2018 at 04:42 AM. Reason: Clarity.
Jacinto is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 27 Mar 2018, 09:21 PM   #2
Jacinto
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 364
Geir, dbowdley, janusz:

May I at least have a yes or no answer on this?

Thank you.

--
Jacinto
Jacinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Mar 2018, 10:07 PM   #3
janusz
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: EU
Posts: 4,532
Sorry, mate, I'm not in the same league as Geir & dbowdley. I don't work for Runbox and don't have any insider knowledge.

Janusz
janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Mar 2018, 10:22 PM   #4
Jacinto
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 364
No worries, Janusz.

You are so knowledgeable about RB, I just assumed you were one of the RB boys, sorry (you're not).

Perhaps, one of them will reply.

--
Jacinto
Jacinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2018, 04:45 PM   #5
dbowdley
Cornerstone of the Community
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 536

Representative of:
Runbox.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacinto View Post
Geir, dbowdley, janusz:

May I at least have a yes or no answer on this?

Thank you.

--
Jacinto
This isn't an official Runbox forum, but we do try to contribute when we can

It isn't possible to check storage limits and usage via an email client at the moment, but we will look in to this for the future.
dbowdley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Mar 2018, 07:58 PM   #6
Jacinto
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 364
Thank you, dbowdley, for taking the time to reply.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbowdley View Post
This isn't an official Runbox forum, but we do try to contribute when we can
Understood. However, it is much appreciated when you and the other Runbox representatives do contribute.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbowdley View Post
It isn't possible to check storage limits and usage via an email client at the moment, but we will look in to this for the future.
I surmised as much by the silence.

I came up with a workaround for Thunderbird, as follows:

Right click at the top of the Runbox account and select "Search Messages."

Then click "Save as Search Folder" (a new screen should pop-up)

Name it whatever you want.
Tick "Match all messages."
Click "Choose...."
Tick all the folders in the account (if not already ticked).
Click "OK," click "Create," then press the "Esc" key.

You should now have a Search Folder for your RB account.

Click the newly created Search Folder (it may take a few seconds while the RB account's directories are traversed).

Click any message on the message list.
Highlight (select) all messages by holding down the "Ctrl" key then pressing the "A" key.

Move the cursor to the bottom of the screen under "conversations" and scroll down to the bottom.

You should now see "These messages take up x.x GB.

Once the Search Folder is set-up it should not disappear unless you delete it. Every time you click it, the message count should be updated.

To keep an accurate count, add newly created folders by right clicking the Search Folder, selecting "Properties," clicking "Choose...," ticking the new folder(s), then clicking "OK" and "Create."

Even though the above works, it is a little cumbersome and not as easy as right clicking on a folder, selecting "Properties" then selecting "Quota."

--
Jacinto
Jacinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Mar 2018, 07:40 PM   #7
mekitron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Central City
Posts: 162
Lightbulb

This is really a nerd solution. Cheers!

How about if we workaround together to have a thunderBIrd plugin for the runBox to show the quota down in the status bar?
mekitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Mar 2018, 09:08 PM   #8
Jacinto
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by mekitron View Post
This is really a nerd solution. Cheers!

How about if we workaround together to have a thunderBIrd plugin for the runBox to show the quota down in the status bar?
Hello, my old friend Mek!

You get started on it and, when you're done, I'll let you name it after me.

Just kidding. I would love to work on it, but I know nothing about Java (or whatever Thunderbird uses nowadays).

Enabling Runbox's IMAP server's quota broadcasting functionality wouldn't be brain surgery. Not sure why RB chose to disable it.

Good luck with your quota extension.

--
Jacinto
Jacinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Mar 2018, 01:04 AM   #9
dbowdley
Cornerstone of the Community
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 536

Representative of:
Runbox.com
Just a further update on this now that it has been discussed at our end. This isn't trivial in our case because of the way our system is configured, but it isn't impossible either. We have assigned this an issue number in our system, and someone will look in to it when time allows.
dbowdley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Mar 2018, 03:11 AM   #10
Jacinto
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 364
Thank you, dbowdley, that's all we can ask for.

Actually, I'm in the process of setting it up on my inhouse dovecot server. Since my dovecot set up is plain vanilla, it's just a question of finding the time to add the plugins and rules to the configuration (and not horking a working server as an unintended consequence while I'm at it).

Thank you, again.

--
Jacinto
Jacinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 11:49 PM.

 

Copyright EmailDiscussions.com 1998-2013. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy