EmailDiscussions.com  

Go Back   EmailDiscussions.com > Email Service Provider-specific Forums > FastMail Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts
Stay in touch wirelessly

FastMail Forum All posts relating to FastMail.FM should go here: suggestions, comments, requests for help, complaints, technical issues etc.

Old 23 Oct 2010, 11:57 PM   #1
sync00

How much filtered spam ends up in the junk folder?

I've been using a disposable email address service for many years. So I have no experience with spam filtering.

I'm thinking of getting rid of the DEA service and just using spam filtering. I regularly get valid emails in my Junk folder. I don't want to look through hundreds of spam messages every day looking for valid emails.

Does most spam end up in the Junk folder or does it get bounced? Is there even a way to tell how much spam gets bounced?
sync00 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 24 Oct 2010, 12:45 AM   #2
DrStrabismus
The "e" in e-mail

The distinction is between reject and file to junk - hopefully nothing is bounced (backscattered).

It's hard to say how much spam will end-up in your junk folder, and it's likely to change over time. I'd suggest you continue with some form of disposable addresses.

Have you looked into why you are getting legitimate emails in your junk folder? Most such mail should be hitting the BAYES_00 spamassassin rules if you are training properly. Is that happing?
DrStrabismus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2010, 01:06 AM   #3
sync00

I did some training in the beginning. Then I read that training requires something like 200 emails and I stopped.
Old 24 Oct 2010, 01:41 AM   #4
DrStrabismus
The "e" in e-mail

200 is what's required just to turn it on - in the early stages you can get very erratic results.
DrStrabismus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2010, 02:11 AM   #5
sync00