EmailDiscussions.com  

Go Back   EmailDiscussions.com > Email Service Provider-specific Forums > FastMail Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Stay in touch wirelessly

FastMail Forum All posts relating to FastMail.FM should go here: suggestions, comments, requests for help, complaints, technical issues etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1 Feb 2019, 01:02 AM   #1
jwm
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 50
Aquamail problem connecting

I've got an Android tablet and an Android phone, both with Aquamail on to connect to Fastmail.

The tablet now suddenly won't connect to check my emails, so I've checked all the settings on the Fastmail website and mine seem to be the same. I've also checked that the settings are the same as on my phone and they are. I've created an app password specifically for the tablet and inserted that but I still get a message saying:

>Account check error outgoing mail server (SMTP): error connecting. No route to host. >Please make sure your settings are correct

I'd be grateful for any guidance
jwm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 1 Feb 2019, 03:08 AM   #2
FredOnline
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 2,177
My AquaMail Pro is currently connecting OK with my FastMail account.
FredOnline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 03:20 AM   #3
jwm
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 50
Well my Aquamail on my phone is connecting OK - it's just the tablet that's the problem!
jwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 03:23 AM   #4
FredOnline
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 2,177
Do you have any other e-mail account (not FastMail) set up on your tablet, and if so is that account working OK?
FredOnline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 03:26 AM   #5
jwm
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 50
I've got the Fastmail app as well and that works fine as does GMail
jwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 03:29 AM   #6
FredOnline
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 2,177
I should have specified another account in your AquaMail app.
FredOnline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 03:29 AM   #7
jwm
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 50
Ah, no, just Fastmail in Aquamail
jwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 03:32 AM   #8
FredOnline
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 2,177
Well, you could add the Gmail account into AquaMail, and check that works OK?

Other than that, if you're 100% completely satisified that you've got your FastMail account set up correctly, I would suggest you contact FastMail support.
FredOnline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 03:50 AM   #9
jwm
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 50
I've added my Gmail account to Aquamail and it works fine

Deleted my Fastmail account and set it up again, it doesn't work still

Thanks for your help
jwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 04:44 AM   #10
FredOnline
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 2,177
Or perhaps uninstall then reinstall the AquaMail app.

Sorry I can't be more helpful . . .
FredOnline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 06:34 AM   #11
jwm
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 50
Complete reinstallation and it still won't send
jwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 07:59 AM   #12
Terry
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: VK4
Posts: 2,696
When you select the box for an application password make sure you select the correct box as there are a few options.
I once selected the wrong box and had a problem like you have.

It could be an account name problem with some info missing like user name must have the .com or what ever you ouse or ssl security so check you have selected the correct one.

Also perhaps try another port, I use 465 but that may be STD

Last edited by Terry : 1 Feb 2019 at 08:07 AM.
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Feb 2019, 10:20 AM   #13
BritTim
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: mostly in Thailand
Posts: 2,749
I do not have AquaMail handy to test. Common issues are
  • not using an App password, or using the wrong type;
  • specifying SSL/TLS and port number 465/587 in a way that is not supported; I suggest port 465 with SSL is tried first; if that does not work, try port 587 with TLS and then 587 with SSL.
Do not trust auto setup (assuming AquaMail has that)
BritTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Feb 2019, 04:13 AM   #14
jwm
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 50
The weird thing is that I have reinstalled Aquamail on the tablet and imported the settings which were exported from Aquamail on my phone, where it all works.

I've changed just the app password to one set up for the tablet and it receives mail but won't send.
jwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Feb 2019, 05:35 AM   #15
jwm
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by BritTim View Post
I do not have AquaMail handy to test. Common issues are
  • not using an App password, or using the wrong type;
  • specifying SSL/TLS and port number 465/587 in a way that is not supported; I suggest port 465 with SSL is tried first; if that does not work, try port 587 with TLS and then 587 with SSL.
Do not trust auto setup (assuming AquaMail has that)
In the end I got it working by changing the port to 587 so thanks very much and to others too!
jwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 02:44 AM.

 

Copyright EmailDiscussions.com 1998-2013. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy