EmailDiscussions.com  

Go Back   EmailDiscussions.com > Email Service Provider-specific Forums > FastMail Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts
Stay in touch wirelessly

FastMail Forum All posts relating to FastMail.FM should go here: suggestions, comments, requests for help, complaints, technical issues etc.

Old 25 Aug 2010, 10:37 PM   #1
chrisjj
Cornerstone of the Community

Avoiding server blocking upon forwarding email to Gmail

I propose to set up my Fastmail to forward all mail to Gmail, but since this necessarily includes much of the kind of mail that Gmail has detects as unsolicited leading to it blocking the forwarding server, is there anything I can do to prevent the same befalling the Fastmail server? Sadly Gmail has no "trusted hosts" option.

Thanks.
chrisjj is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 26 Aug 2010, 06:49 AM   #2
hadaso
The "e" in e-mail

I have been forwarding email automatically to Gmail for several years. There's spam being forwarded (not all or even most of the spam I get) and it doesn't seem to have any effect on deliverability from FastMail to Gmail.

Gmail almost alway recognizes the spam correctly and files (labels) it under spam (it's not as good in avoiding ham being classified as spam).
hadaso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Aug 2010, 10:12 AM   #3
n5bb
Intergalactic Postmaster

Arrow Using Gmail to archive Fastmail sent and received messages

I agree with hadaso -- this isn't a problem. In my case, at Fastmail I target my Aliases and Virtual Aliases to the following (see this Fastmail blog post (item 2) for information about use of #noplus#):
Code:
fmusername+*@fastmaildomain,gmailusername+#noplus#@gmail.com
In the past month, 650 messages have accumulated in my Gmail Spam box, since address targeting bypasses the Fastmail spam and reject filters. And nearly 15,000 non-spam messages from my Fastmail account have been archived in this way at Gmail in the past 25 months.