EmailDiscussions.com  

Go Back   EmailDiscussions.com > Email Service Provider-specific Forums > FastMail Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Stay in touch wirelessly

FastMail Forum All posts relating to FastMail.FM should go here: suggestions, comments, requests for help, complaints, technical issues etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 Jul 2022, 06:52 AM   #1
ao1
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 325
Subdomain addressing does not work for me

I have a domain, mydomain.tld managed by Fastmail DNS
I've set several aliases for family members that redirect to their email provider (for example, wifesname@mydomain.tld forwards to wife's gmail) and a wildcard *@mydomain.tld that forwards to mine.

I would expect anything@wifesname.mydomain.tld to land in wife's inbox (on gmail), but instead it lands in mine.

What gives?
ao1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 26 Jul 2022, 03:04 PM   #2
BritTim
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: mostly in Thailand
Posts: 3,038
Odd. Does "wifesname" contain anything other than alphabetic characters?

Last edited by BritTim : 26 Jul 2022 at 03:10 PM.
BritTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2022, 03:13 PM   #3
ao1
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by BritTim View Post
Odd. Does "wifesname" contain anything other than alphabetic characters?
Nope, purely alphabetical.
ao1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2022, 03:40 PM   #4
xyzzy
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 442
How are you doing that forwarding? Are you using the alias's Deliver to target setting? Not sure how you create a FM alias using your own private domain since I don't have any of those.

Using FM's aliases I do know that if I create an alias testit@mm.st with a target (Deliver to) specified as mygmailacct@gmail.com and send an email to xx@testit.mm.st, the gmail account will receive the email message with it's To set to xx@testit.mm.st. and its Deliver To header mygmailacct+xx@gmail.com (which is how gMail handles these kind of subdomain addresses).

In your cases that fail what does the message's Delivered-To say?

Last edited by xyzzy : 26 Jul 2022 at 04:46 PM.
xyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jul 2022, 10:09 PM   #5
BritTim
The "e" in e-mail
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: mostly in Thailand
Posts: 3,038
The more I think about this, the stranger it seems. This is a feature that has existed in Fastmail almost from the beginning, and is heavily used. The way it is implemented is independent of things like the sieve script (which could be faulty in some way). The only thing I can think of is that the configuration for your domain has not been correctly transmitted to one or more of Fastmail's MX servers. Maybe, you should raise a support ticket, and have the support staff investigate that possibility.

EDIT: You could try deleting the alias for your wife, saving the configuration, waiting a few minutes, and then adding it back. Maybe, if there was a hiccup with the MX server updates, this would resolve it. Even then, it might be important to report it.
BritTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jul 2022, 01:12 AM   #6
n5bb
Intergalactic Postmaster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 8,786
Arrow Subdomain routing setting

In the edit screen for your domain at Fastmail, the last item shown is Routing. You can manage the routing with several choices:
  • Subdomain routing: If you set this incorrectly you won't get delivery to the proper user based on the subdomain. You normally want to have this set to the first choice.
  • Routing: This should be set to internal if your email is delivered to the normal Fastmail servers.
You can also see Fastmail Help concerning these settings.


Bill
n5bb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Sep 2022, 01:02 PM   #7
ao1
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 325
Thanks Bill, it was the routing setting. It was set to the 2nd option.
https://www.fastmail.com/settings/domains/25463/routing
ao1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Sep 2022, 02:03 PM   #8
n5bb
Intergalactic Postmaster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 8,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by ao1 View Post
Thanks Bill, it was the routing setting. It was set to the 2nd option.
https://www.fastmail.com/settings/domains/25463/routing
Glad that fixed it! With choices comes the possibility of incorrect settings of those choices. I believe that the main reasons that Fastmail removed some of their previous flexibility over the past few years was to reduce user error and simplify support.

Bill
n5bb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 08:49 AM.

 

Copyright EmailDiscussions.com 1998-2022. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy