EmailDiscussions.com  

Go Back   EmailDiscussions.com > Email Service Provider-specific Forums > FastMail Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts
Stay in touch wirelessly

FastMail Forum All posts relating to FastMail.FM should go here: suggestions, comments, requests for help, complaints, technical issues etc.

Old 30 Oct 2006, 04:49 AM   #1
john7033

Lightbulb Let's try to be reasonable and logical

First of all I want to make it clear that I'm not taking sides on this issue. I'm only going to say what I know to be true.

I work as a SysAdmin for a large private financial institution. We operate a redundant mail server (Postfix/Cyrus/OpenLDAP) for about 8050 users spread across the USA. I have worked in this field for about 11 years.

We process about three million messages per month, though seventy percent of that is spam (which never makes it past the helo). For me, managing the mail server is almost a non-issue. It hasn't been down in sixteen months. The reason for the last outage was to migrate accounts to a larger raid.

I first want to point out that the people who are angry about this outage have every right to be if they are paying customers (and to a lesser degree if they aren't). I have seen a number of comments which suggest that the low price of the service mitigates paying customer's right to be angry. It does not matter what the price is..if you pay forty bucks a year for email service, you are entitled to complain loudly about outages.

The price for service is set by the owners of Fastmail, and if they think they are entitled to be excused from outages because they aren't charging more, they have a litle something to learn about the free market. To be clear, the low price for service set by the proprietor is not an automatic sanction for poor service. Forty dollars Even ten dollars per year per account is a fairly high price when you consider that there are no software licensing costs...the costs are in the management of the system.