EmailDiscussions.com  

Go Back   EmailDiscussions.com > Email Service Provider-specific Forums > FastMail Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts
Stay in touch wirelessly

FastMail Forum All posts relating to FastMail.FM should go here: suggestions, comments, requests for help, complaints, technical issues etc.

Old 4 Oct 2011, 06:12 AM   #1
eewanco

Unhappy New messages spontaneously marked read

I've been using Fastmail for a few years and have really enjoyed it.

Last couple of days though I've been experiencing a weird problem. New messages are showing up as marked read even though I haven't read them. This has affected probably a dozen messages over the last couple of days. It's like someone is reading my mail, except I checked the login history and everything looks OK. No one had logged in during one period in which I saw this happen.

I have three machines using two software clients: One at work, one at home, and my phone. The two computers use Thunderbird and the phone uses MailDroid. None of these have been upgraded during the period when this appeared (and have been working fine), and as I said I saw messages marked read during a period when none of the clients logged in.

Has anyone seen this problem?
eewanco is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 5 Oct 2011, 11:38 AM   #2
n5bb
Intergalactic Postmaster

No, I have not noticed any such problem. Here are some ideas:
  • Your Option>Define Rules>File into folders rules can cause certain filed messages to be marked as Read.
  • It's easy to accidentally have a mobile phone email client do odd things you didn't suspect.
  • You might want to send yourself test messages in the Fastmail web interface, and see if they arrive read or unread.